{reflections on food} My Independence Day

from scratch club

Serviceberries

Last 4th of July I began my independence from sugar.

I went to the parade on Avenue A, the street where I grew up. The parade began with my generation, in the thick of the centennial spirit of the mid-seventies. One year I wore the bridesmaid gown I wore at my uncle’s wedding. The next year, I wore a vest and knickers and played my tonette like a fife; in my pixie cut I was the perfect boy imp, ready to do all the things I knew about the Revolution: play Paul Revere, be the teenage boy who fought in the field, throw tea in Boston Harbor.

My son Felix rode in the parade last year, decorating his bike with star spangled glitters. My other son Francis was hiking in the Adirondacks. My husband Jack was working. After the parade I sat on the deck at my sister’s house…

Lihat pos aslinya 904 kata lagi

About Umi DA

Ordinary People. Suka dengan hal-hal berbau seni(art), detektif, (me)masak(an)--tentunya berkaitan dengan makanan--, humor, komik, dll. :D

Tinggalkan komentar

Juli 2013
M S S R K J S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Kategori